Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate thoughts?

• Thread starter kessikitty
  • Start date
kessikitty

kessikitty

NintenPedia Member
Towns Folk
I just started playing a few days ago, and while some of the early quests are super easy, they really do take the gloves off quick and send you out on your own with no hints! It took forever to beat the Stinking Seltas and Jaggi Alliance quests, even though they should've been easy as my first major hunts. I added all the DLC, frequently switch out and train my Palicoes, and I'm not sure what I am doing wrong or right. I have 3 armor sets saved already.
1 for dual blades, 1 for insect glaive, and 1 for the light bowgun. Is there any other equipment I should invest in? I hated the long sword, and some of the delay on moving after attacks drove me nuts, and still kind of does. The insect glaive seems to be my favorite blademaster weapon, but I have yet to try gunlances, which are supposed to be a combo of both if I'm not mistaken. I have been upgrading my equipment early as possible, because I know they are giving me more things now than they ever will later. I'm about to start the first expedition, and I was wondering if there was anything I should do besides max my healing items before heading out. I have no idea what to expect, as this is my first Monster Hunter game, ever.

Also, for other newbies, how have you guys felt about the game so far? Is the learning curve as high to you as it was to me, or am I just slow?

well if ur going on an expedition, it really doesn't matter how u go through it unless there something specific u want from it, like hunting a certain monster, for example. i'd say it would be better to get some good healing items for later quests, but try to only use the first aid meds and stuff on expeditions, since there's no limit on dying like actual quests, also the gunlance is still definitely a melee weapon, as the shells from it are kinda just a bonus on it. even long shot GL's don't have much range :T