Special edition games or games by themselves

• Thread starter Marc
  • Start date
Marc

Marc

"Marc's the sugar daddy of gaming" - Artisan 2020
Forum Management
Sometimes you'll find special/limited editions of games with some extra stuff in the package. Things like a sketch/art book, soundtracks.. even figurines at times. The list may not stop there :playful:

Of course, the extra content come with a bump in the price tag.

I'm wondering how many of you prefer special/limited editions of games to games by themselves.

Do you find the additions from the special/limited edition games worth the extra cash you'd dish out for it?

Game alone is fine. I don't especially care for the extra fluff. As long as I get the game experience it's good.

Reactions: Furyofthestorm78
I think it really depends on the game. If it's a new game I have no past experience with, I'm not likely to shell out the extra cash for special content. However, if it were a game close to my heart like Pokemon, I'd definitely be interested in it. I ended up buying both Sun & Moon at once for the bonus poster, even though I was planning on buying Moon later. It seems silly now, because it's just a poster! But I go crazy for Pokemon stuff.

Special editions are cool. The exclusive stuff justifies the high price.

I stick with the normal title because I don't really care for extras - They just exist to attract more attention (not to mention - money) from people. Even if they look cool, the hype would die down a while after you obtain these so-called items. I'll get the full gaming experience anyways, so I have no need for extra gimmicks. xD

Reactions: Furyofthestorm78
Depends what it is, how much and what if any free gifts come with it. I would more likely go for a pre-order free gift that a shop offers than a special edition box.