Tips for improving battery life on smartphone or tablet?

• Thread starter frog
  • Start date
frog

frog

Pokemon Master
Towns Folk
I notice sometimes my battery life is not very good. What are some tips on making my battery life longer?

Put on airplane mode and set the brightness to low.

Thanks for the help. I give Airplane mode a try.

If you want to really extend your battery life, I would download Greenify if you're on Android. What it does is it automatically hibernates apps that typically do a lot of syncing data and drain the battery quickly when you turn off the screen, so your battery life ends up being extended every time your screen is turned off. If you're using iOS, then I don't know what you could do to optimize it other than using airplane mode like saltypepper suggested.

When it comes to mobile battery life, as a programmer I want to scream because companies keep making phones that run more circuitry for more complex functions, but never stop to think about how much battery life it drains to do so. That aside, the best things you can do have already been said. For every platform there is a battery saver app, I'm fairly certain anyway, and if your phone has airplane mode/battery saving mode it would probably help to do activate it as well as dimming the screen. The only tip I have to add is always keep your storage space tidy of things you don't use for they still drain battery even when inactive, in many occasions. Hope that helps!

Would rooting or jailbreaking a mobile device improve its battery life. I read online that there are apps I can use to slowdown the CPU and video chip's clock speed to save power, and also uninstall bundled programs which are not possible to remove without root or jailbreak.