Building Your Own Computer?

• Thread starter Malladus
  • Start date
Malladus

Malladus

a.k.a. "Panchirito"
Towns Folk
I'm not familiar building a computer but I'm curious building one. I always wanted to build one for gaming but I'm afraid that I might buy the wrong parts or do something wrong. Before even starting building a computer, I want to know the list of all parts that I need to make the computer running. I also need to know what each part/component does because I'm not an expert on computers. I know building computers is not really complicated to do but it does requires some skills if you want to install some component parts.

Trust me, you don't need to know what each component does. Jesus.
Uhh, of the top of my head:
  • Motherboard
  • Ram
  • CPU(+Fan)
  • Power Supply
  • Hard Drive
That's a veeery basic list of what an average computer has. You can get Solid State Drives and Disk Writers and such, but that's the basic list. Make sure the motherboard you get is flexible to getting upgrades. And try not to fry it. Don't bend any of your CPU golden rods, and if you do, don't bother bending them back. If they get stuck in your motherboard, you're gonna have to get a new one.
If you really need to know:
  • Motherboard : This allows the CPU, RAM, and other components to communicate with each other.
  • Ram : A bit confusing. basically, the more Ram you have, the more stuff your compute can do at any one time, as running programs are stored in Ram.
  • CPU : This does all of the functions in your computer.
  • Power Supply : Powers your computer
  • Hard Drive : Stores data, such as music, or your Operating System
Again, a basic list. I could go on and on with what some of this stuff does, but you don't need to know.

Reactions: Malladus, Marc and Mikaya