punk rock/ alt rock

• Thread starter AngelsShadow
  • Start date
AngelsShadow

AngelsShadow

Number XIV in the orginization, The Noisy Artist
Towns Folk
Hey guys this room is for talking about the awsome gift of punk rock alternative is aloud so long as its atleast close to punk. Am I the only teen that listens to punk rock in this day and age of techno crap? what bands do you guys listen to in the punk/alt world? And who here wants to help me start a band kind of like a mix of Rise against/radio head/ and switchfoot ik it sounds weird to think about but it sounds good if you hear it. I am an electric/acoustic guitarist and can sing rise against style of punk singing if that makes any sense at all.

Good to another punk rock fan \o

The first punk rock band I listened to were Sex Pistols, and even though they only made one album I think they're the best. So explosive - they defined punk :D

Then there's The Clash, Crass, Dead Kennedys, Social Distortion... those are the older ones that are good. The Clash grew to be a bit more upmarket but that wasn't a bad thing and 'London Calling' is a great album.

Nirvana were quite like a punk band to me. Punk, hard rock, grunge, alternative - it's hard for me to classify them, but they played like a punk rock band live.

Out of the newer ones, like post-2000s, I find Cancer Bats and Aiden to be the best.

Cancer Bats are a really unique in-between of metalcore and hardcore punk, and Aiden were a great hardcore punk band, their first album is incredibly underrated and it's probably one of my favourite albums of all time. I mean, listen to this \: D/

And who here wants to help me start a band

Too bad we don't live near each other, maybe I'd have given it a try. Dunno. Good luck tho :D

Reactions: Livada
I'm a metalhead, which means I listen to metal music but I listen to punk rock a little bit too. I like Rise Against, The Offspring, Anti-Nowhere Leauge, Dropkick Murphys and Anti-Flag :D