AC:NL Tips for Turnips in Animal Crossing New Leaf?

• Thread starter ParanoidLatias
  • Start date
ParanoidLatias

ParanoidLatias

Happy saplings grow into happy trees.
Towns Folk
I'm not a newbie to Animal Crossing New Leaf, but I've never quite used the stalk (heh) market. I bought 60 turnips from Joan this Sunday, and I've just sold them for 147 bells each. I made a profit, but not a large one. The question I have is this, can the turnip business make a lot of money, or is it just based on luck? And if it does make a large quantity of money, how many turnips I buy to create a large amount of profit but with not much too much risk? (kind of sound alike a math equation )

Ok, with the new update the stalk market is probably one of the best ways to make bells.
There selling prices follow one of four patterns every week.
Prices change every morning (when re-tail opens) and at noon exactly.
The four pattern types are: Random, Small Spike, Large Spike, Constantly Decreasing.
The random pattern is as you can guess random. It never really goes over 200 bells, but is over 100 bells at least once or twice a week.
The Constantly Decreasing pattern starts at 75-100 bells usually and decreases with every price change.
The Small Spike pattern is a decreasing pattern but will have a set of four consecutively increasing prices, followed by one above average decreasing price. The maximum price is the fourth increased price from this pattern and is at latest Saturday morning and at earliest Tuesday afternoon.
The Large Spike pattern is what you want to see. It also features a decreasing pattern but it has two consecutively increasing prices followed by the maximum price for that week and then two above average decreasing prices. The maximum price is therefore any time but a Monday or Saturday. (The highest I've seen is 517 bells per Turnip, the reason this is the best way to make bells now).